Visit and read here! Chat and hang out with us!

How Much of This is Me?

 First off, Welcome to our blog! We hope you’ll come back often to check out what’s going on with our writing and lives. 

Today, I’m going answer one of those questions almost every interviewer asks at one point or another: How much of you (meaning me) gets into your writing?

The answer is pretty simple: it depends on the day. lol! 

Some days, my stories are pretty removed from me and my personal life. That doesn’t mean they don’t reflect who I am and what I think and how I see the world. It would be impossible to write without those things sneaking into the words. I`ve been told no matter what genre I`m writing in, fantasy, paranormal, contemporary or some mixture of the above, my voice is pretty easily identified. I like to think that`s a good thing 🙂

 Other days, though, you might say a story is more like therapy. Take my Ageless series. The first story, Spinning, is very much a reflection of my own personal struggles. Sometimes, the only way to get over heartbreak is to talk about it, or, in my case, write it out. I don’t know if it helped me purge that pain any faster than I would have otherwise, but it did reflect it back at me from another angle and let me see that it was possible to get past it.

As Ken in the story had a lot of soul searching to do, so did I, at the time. Sometimes, you make discoveries about yourself that are a little harder to integrate into your world view than others, and for me, I`m blessed with the ability and opportunity to work those issues out on paper, once removed, by putt my poor characters through my own worst case scenario. If I can find a way out for them, then it must be possible to live through for me, too. At least, that`s my hope! And for the most part, it works. Some might call it torturing my characters. I call it therapy. And it`s a lot cheaper than the traditional kind. Time will tell if it`s effective or not. 

I like to think it’s working out, because in book two of that series, Grounded, Ken seems to have found some missing pieces and is getting his equilibrium back. I’m happy to say, so am I.

Grounded has recently been released from Pink Petal Books, and thank goodness, it’s a little more distant from my own emotional life than the first. Life moves on, and so do Ken and Mikko.Grounded Cover

 Grounded by Jaime Samms available now at Pink Petal Books

Ken and Mikko have overcome the hurdle of finding one another and coming to terms with the damage they both did to their relationship. Happy to submit to Mikko’s rule, Ken has come a long way toward finding his own strength again, and has decided he must officially end the relationship he ran out on when he went looking for Mikko. Awaiting Ken’s return is the hardest thing Mikko has ever had to do. 

He is forced to come to terms with his own shortcomings, and confront his own past, the secrets he’s kept, and the effect they may have on his lover.

 When that past knocks on their door, Mikko has to face the fact he might not be able to protect Ken any longer. Whether or not he finds the strength in himself to accept help may mean the difference between keeping their home and their life safe, or losing everything to the man he thought he had escaped.

6 responses

  1. I’m the same way. Sometimes it gets into a book, sometimes it doesn’t. Other times I think it hasn’t got in there, yet when I read it back a year later, I see it did.

    🙂

    October 15, 2010 at 5:15

    • That’s very true, too, Natalie. I look back on some of my stuff that seemed so random at the time I wrote it and in retrospect, I can see it isn’t actually random at all. Funny how that is, isn’t it?

      October 15, 2010 at 5:15

  2. I’m always surprised at how much I recognize of not only me but of those I know in my stories. Then again there are some hero’s in there I wish I knew much better than on paper, lol.

    October 15, 2010 at 5:15

    • He. You’re too funny, Debbie. Don’t we all have a hero or two like that?

      October 20, 2010 at 5:15

  3. Lisa Alexander-Griffin

    I guess there’s lots of me in my stories too. Like you, Jaime….sometimes I think it’s not there and when I read back I find it. lol. Writing is definitely a form of therapy, and what’s kept me sane all these years. 🙂

    October 19, 2010 at 5:15

    • I think we internalize so much it probably is tough to notice in most cases. It isn’t until you look back that you recognize you’ve done it. At least, most of the time, that’s how it works for me.

      I make no claims as to my sanity…. lol!

      October 20, 2010 at 5:15

Leave a Reply

