Visit and read here! Chat and hang out with us!

Coping with stress on a tight budget (and schedule)

It’s no secret to many that the amount of stress one is under is inversely proportional to the amount of free time they have. Same goes for the amount of money in their accounts. I have been asked many a time how I manage to do “all that I do” and still have time to sleep. The answer is this: careful time management.

It’s a constant juggle of knowing when you can do without an unnecessary activity versus you need to take a break for the sake of your sanity. Can you go out to dinner with friends, or are you better off telling them you’ll have to see them another time?

Part of how I lower my stress levels is taking time out to exercise. You don’t need hours and hours on the treadmill; studies have shown just ten minutes a day can produce results. Grab a dvd of your favorite ten minute workout and get moving!

In addition to physical activity, listening to music, reading, and taking long walks often helps. Paying attention to my body, feeding it the right food and getting at least 7-8 hours per sleep per night also prevents me from becoming so low on energy that my immune system is affected and then guess what–now you’re not only stressed with little free time but now  you’re spending it being sick in bed.

It’s a neverending battle, but I think  it’s just part of life in our culture and lifestyle.

How do you cope with stress? Do you ever find that you have to sacrifice your health for the sake of responsibility?

7 responses

  1. debbiegould

    Great advise, Adrianne. It’s something I need to do, not only to decrease stress levels, but to get back in shape.

    November 5, 2010 at 5:15

  2. adriannebrennan

    I sincerely and wholeheartedly do NOT know what I’d do without my exercise routine. Probably a slew of other habits far, far less healthy!

    November 5, 2010 at 5:15

  3. Good post!

    I try to walk at least a coupla times a week, but in my region, there are too many hills to climb and at this new house, the roads are way too busy. I was relieved to see a gravel road next to our place, because I could walk it and stay off the highway. Nope. This is one of the busiest side roads I’ve ever seen!

    Add to it the nasty weather settling in these hills…sigh. Guess I’ll have to bite the bullet, regardless. I need those endorphins(sp?) to help me be stress free and feel better!

    November 5, 2010 at 5:15

  4. trinitybl

    For me I read to just get away. If it’s real bad I’ll take off for a walk, but the kids usually tag along making the walk more stressful so I only do that when they’re not around.
    Trinity

    November 5, 2010 at 5:15

  5. Lark LaTroy

    Great advice here. I follow many of the same suggestions. I just add one hyper-active Cocker Spaniel to the mix. He really gets my blood pumping.

    November 5, 2010 at 5:15

  6. I need to start the exercise again. I felt better when I did it every day.

    🙂

    November 5, 2010 at 5:15

  7. adriannebrennan

    Getting away and exercise, yes yes yes. There are days when I just drive up north, head to Salem, and just walk around and window browse, just for the chance to clear my head.

    Also get great plot ideas and solvers from exercise and walking. 🙂

    November 5, 2010 at 5:15

Leave a Reply

