Visit and read here! Chat and hang out with us!

A Christmas Story Part IV

So, as promised, another installment of Kriss and Cody’s exploration of non-traditional Christmas gifts. Please enjoy.

Part One:   Santa’s New Line: http://dontkickmycane.livejournal.com/146309.html

Part II: https://sixdreamweavers.wordpress.com/2010/10/28/a-christmas-story-continued/

Part III: https://sixdreamweavers.wordpress.com/2010/11/10/a-christmas-story-cont-part-iii/

And today: Part IV:

“Oh,” Kriss said softly, the brush of his breath soft across Cody’s cheek. He tightened his arms and pulled Cody to him more firmly. “Make that sound again. I like it.” 

“Kriss.” Cody closed his eyes, leaned his head back against the taller man’s shoulder. “This isn’t…” 

Kriss’s hand had moved from where he’d been clasping his own forearm to lie flat against Cody’s belly, under his shirt. “This isn’t what?” he asked, interspersing kisses along Cody’s neck between the words. 

“Oh, God.” Cody squirmed and only managed to embed himself deeper into Kriss’s embrace. “Please stop that,” he whispered, fearing the words held about none of the command he’d intended. The man had a magic touch that already had his cock hard and aching slightly. If Cody didn’t get himself under control fast, he’d be gone. He forced his mind back to soup and crackers and peeled himself away from Kriss, though he couldn’t escape the tight circle of his arms unless Kriss released him. “Let go, Kriss.”

 “Oh.” Kriss stepped back abruptly, taking his warmth and the heady aroma of his body with him. “I didn’t mean…I thought…” 

Cody set the kettle on the stove and turned on the burner before facing his guest.

 His head hanging and one hand roving aimlessly over his own stomach, Kriss looked so dejected, Cody couldn’t stand it. “What is it, Kriss? What’s wrong? What did you think?”

 Kriss’s brow creased again casting a shadow of doubt into the blue of his eyes. His pretty lips curled down. “I thought this was how it was supposed to go. I came to find you. To be…” 

“To be what?” Cody asked gently, not wanting to upset his elf even more. 

“Well. Yours.” 

“You set out to find a fifteen year old boy. What did you think was going to happen?” Cody ignored the thrill of joy that word ‘yours’ sent through his entire being. The situation was more complex than that. It had to be. 

Kriss pulled the corner of his bottom lip up between his teeth. “It’s…complicated.” 

“Well,” Cody waved a hand toward the kettle. “We have some time. Tell me how this works, because getting my very own Christmas Elf—” 

“I am not—”

 “I know! Sorry. I’m sorry, but I don’t know what else to call you. You appeared on my doorstep…” Cody drew in a deep breath and let it out again slowly. “I can’t imagine a Santa Clause that sends out a grown man to a fifteen year old kid with,” he waved a hand vaguely, “this in mind. That just isn’t right.” 

“No!” a look of horror settled on Kriss’s features. “Oh no! Is that what you thought? No!” Kris sank into a chair and proceeded to rearrange everything on the table, lining all the condiments up like a train. “Fate is funny. If I’d been meant to find you when you were fifteen, I’d be…different.”

 “You would have been fifteen, too?”

 “No. But…” he looked up and directly into Cody’s eyes. “I’d have had something different to offer you. Something you would have needed then.”

“So…you’re saying you found me now because fate told you I needed to get laid?” the idea was ever so slightly insulting, and Cody frowned.

Kriss turned pale. His fingers stilled and he dropped his gaze to the table top. “I guess it’s pretty farfetched to think you’d want some random guy you walked into on the street. I always believed Santa knew what he was doing. It never occurred to me. Sorry.” And there he was, getting out of his chair, on the verge of leaving again, and Cody couldn’t let him.

He reached and placed his hand over Kriss’s on the table. “Look. Something weird is going on. You said you’ve never been hungry before.” As if to accentuate his point, the kettle shrilled. Cody hurried to take it off the burner and pour hot water into a mug with powder soup. He stirred and brought the soup and a box of saltines to the table, set them down in front of Kriss and sat opposite him. “This means something changed. Maybe, if I’m the one you were sent for, then the change means you’ve come to the end of your quest.”

Read tea cupLeaning forward, Kriss drew in a deep breath and smiled. “That smells good.”

Cody couldn’t help a crooked grin. “Actually, it a travesty to serve you cup-a-soup as your first ever meal, but it would be downright cruel to serve you my cooking, so boiled soup it is.”

“I’m a good cook,” Kriss said as he brought the cup to his lips. Blew delicately over the top and sipped. “Or so I’ve been told. I can teach you.”

Cody watched, fascinated, as Kriss crumbled a few crackers into his soup and lifted the cup to his lips again. Everything about him was so delicate, but he didn’t give off the air of fragility. There was something infinitely strong about him. It made Cody’s head swim, his palms sweat, and his mind wander to the memory of those lips on the skin of his neck.

He didn’t have much desire to learn to cook, but if it meant there was a good reason for Kriss to stick around, one that didn’t relegate the remarkable man to a bed warmer, he’d take it.

“Sure.” He propped his elbow on the table, leaned his chin into his palm and watched Kriss finish his meal. “That would be excellent.”

Kriss met his eye and smiled, a sly slant to his expression that made Cody wonder just exactly how accurate the elf’s extra perceptions were.

“I’m not an elf,” Kriss said pleasantly. “You’ll see. Elves are wee little things,” he held up thumb and forefinger, about an inch apart, “with squeaky voices and ever-so-slightly frightening powers. I’m just me. I happen to like cup-a-soup and neurotic men who can’t cook. Give this a chance.”

Cody nodded, wondered if maybe the elves weren’t the only creatures with odd and slightly frightening powers, and wondered, also, why he didn’t care.

Across the table, Kriss set down his mug, rolled up the sleeve of saltines and put it back in the box. He leaned back in his chair and let out a jaw-cracking yawn. His eyes watered and he blinked, and when it was over he had a slightly puzzled look on his face.

“You’re tired,” Cody said.

“Never felt tired before.”

 Cody nodded, not surprised to hear it. “First time for everything,” he muttered. But he smiled and stood. “Just have to figure out where you’re going to sleep.” he only had one bed, and his couch was a tiny loveseat, lumpy and far too short for sleeping on.

 “Wouldn’t I sleep the same place you do?” Kriss asked.

 Fifteen years in the world, and whether or not he’d ever had to sleep before, Cody couldn’t imagine the man was that naive. When he looked up to find Kriss grinning at him, he knew he was right. “You’ve had fifteen years to figure it all out.”

 Kriss continued to grin. “I came into being knowing I would find you one day. I’ve had plenty of time to learn how to read and write and cook and…”

 Cody blushed.

 “I know how the world works,” Kriss assured him. “What I want to figure out is how you work.”

11 responses

  1. debbiegould

    This is really great! I can’t wait until the next installment. Thanks for sharing it with us!!

    November 23, 2010 at 5:15

  2. jaimesamms

    Thanks, Debbie 🙂 I like these two. They’re so clumsy and adorable.

    November 24, 2010 at 5:15

  3. what a great 4th installment 😀 I love these two men!!! I can’t wait to see how Kriss will learn about Cody, and vice versa 😉

    Tame

    November 24, 2010 at 5:15

    • jaimesamms

      Thank you, Tame. It makes me so happy you’re enjoying this.

      November 24, 2010 at 5:15

  4. Cynthia Osborne

    What a way to start the Thanksgiving weekend. You are wonderful and the story is exceptional. Cinders

    November 24, 2010 at 5:15

    • jaimesamms

      Aww Cinders. You make me blush. I just tell it like they tell me…but I am having a lot of fun with these two.

      November 24, 2010 at 5:15

  5. Very good, Jaime. I’ve really enjoyed the story so far. Can’t wait to read the rest. 🙂

    November 25, 2010 at 5:15

  6. jaimesamms

    So glad you’re enjoying it, Lisa. Thanks so much for dropping in to read it!

    November 25, 2010 at 5:15

  7. Pingback: Christmas Story con’t Part V « We Dream, Imagine, and Write Romance

  8. Pingback: Christmas Story Continued beyond Christmas « We Dream, Imagine, and Write Romance

  9. Pingback: Christmas Story Continued Part Seven « We Dream, Imagine, and Write Romance

Leave a Reply

