Visit and read here! Chat and hang out with us!

What’s Your Motto?

Thanksgiving is over, and here we are into December with worries of getting all the Christmas shopping done, attending parties, dealing with crazy shoppers, and fighting traffic.

Ugh.

If we even have a Christmas at my house this year, I’ll have to go out shopping for the first time in years. Until this year I’ve always done 95% of my shopping online. I hate going out to the mall, Walmart or wherever during the holiday season. I’m not someone who has any tolerance for stupidity or blatant rudeness, so when it happens I have two choices. A) Walk away and pray the offender grows a brain and a heart, or B) end up in jail.

Walk away, Faith, walk away!

I am looking forward to baking this year. Since we moved into our new place, I have a big kitchen and lots of counter space to work. The youngest has a Rice Krispie Treat “gingerbread” house kit to make, and I’ve bought many baking supplies from cookie icing (cheaper to buy the tubes than it is the ingredients to make it), and all sorts of things to make fudge, cinnamon rolls, and so on. The family will eat some of it, but I make such things and give them as Christmas gifts. My homemade fudge is a request I get every year from those who have indulged in it. The traditional flavors like pb and chocolate are made, but I also make flavors like banana, spiced, wintergreen and so on.

This year the economy is in shambles and most families are struggling, so my Christmas motto is to “thank God for my family and to appreciate the tiny things we often take for granted.”

Do you have a Christmas motto?

16 responses

  1. My Christmas motto this year is, the only thing that matters to me is my children. I’ve come to the conclusion that no matter how many people you try and help someone will always come and stomp on you.
    So this year I’m going to concentrate on my children, true friends, and me for a change. Sorry if it sounds selfish, but I’m in a tired mood today.
    But knowing me I’ll go out of the way to help someone even though it will cost me. Sigh I take after my mom always giving.
    Trinity

    December 2, 2010 at 5:15

  2. Lisa Alexander-Griffin

    Fudge is my all time favorite. I make it every Christmas along with Merry Bells and a few other treats. Yum! The Merry Bells are time consuming, so I only make them on special occasions.

    Tree is up as of yesterday, but we still have to put on the ornaments. lol. Will do that this weekend. A Christmas parade tonight.Slowly trying to get into the spirit of Christmas.

    No shopping done yet, and I enjoy it most of the time, IF hubby is in a halfway decent mood.

    Hope you have a wonderful Christmas, Faith! 🙂

    December 2, 2010 at 5:15

  3. Trin, I know exactly how you feel!

    Morning, Lisa. I hope I can skip the shopping this year, lol.

    December 2, 2010 at 5:15

  4. Enjoy Christmas, whichever way suits you best, and hope others do the same.

    December 2, 2010 at 5:15

  5. Lisa Alexander-Griffin

    Who you gonna sucker into doing it? lol. I’m like you. Wish I could do all my shopping online, but then I’d miss all the hustle and bustle. haha. Or is that…pushing and shoving?

    December 2, 2010 at 5:15

  6. My motto is the K.I.S.S. rule–Keep It Super Simple (yeah, I know the original phrase is meaner than that, but I like my version :D). When it comes down to it, it’s the joy and the fun with family and friends we remember most, not the decorations, the presents or decadent goodies.

    December 2, 2010 at 5:15

  7. Actually, my hubby does more shopping than I do when it’s Christmas time because he stops and stores in town on his way home.

    LOL at hustle/bustle, pushing/shoving!

    December 2, 2010 at 5:15

  8. Every year we make Christmas more special. In the beginning it was buying all “new” stuff for our son’s motorcross racing. Now, I/we focuas on each other’s needy wants. Meaning, although it’s a want, if it is a necessity or a small need; clothes, hair gels, shoes, etc. We get the best we can. Ron and I focus on one another with 2 gifts. A fun item and a need. Either a bottle of cologne or jewelry for the year, and clothes for work. We found out that Family Dollar, the Dollar General or Dallar Tree really aren’t so bad. More for your money.

    December 2, 2010 at 5:15

  9. Lisa Alexander-Griffin

    True, huh? lol.

    I’d hate to see what hubby came home with for gifts. 😉 Guess I’m stuck shopping. He is not a shopper. He’d be the one killing some poor soul.

    December 2, 2010 at 5:15

  10. Christmas is my very favorite time of year, and I usually make a big fuss with the tree and all the outdoor trimmings. This year I’ve decided to kick back a little and enjoy the holiday spirit in a more heartfelt fashion.
    Less splash and glitter and more peace and love is my new motto.

    Merry Christmas to all from my house to yours.
    With love and all best holiday wishes,
    Cat

    December 2, 2010 at 5:15

  11. Um, yeah, I have one, but it’s too rude to put here. LOL

    :o)

    December 2, 2010 at 5:15

  12. I hate to see my husband shop as well. Not because he doesn’t do it well but the exact opposite. I can go shopping without him and get what is on my list and spend 30 dollars. I take him and that same 30 dollar list seems to cost me 300. I don’t like to shop so I do most of my christmas shopping throughout the year. That is because one of the things I hate about shopping is the crowds of people. So if I do most of my shopping on the slow days throughout the year I don’t have to put up with the hordes of last minute shoppers who are all fighting to get the same toy. I only shop for the kids anymore. Presents are for the little ones and my husband of course, but he is the littlest one of all sometimes. I make candy and breads and cookies for the presents for adults. I am sure that when I buy all the stuff for candies and goodies I spend alot more than I would have just buying them presents, but I enjoy it. It relaxes me and I think anything that relaxes us during the holidays is the best thing to do. My Motto is to remember that once the holidays are over and the tree is cleaned up and the house put back to normal I will have wonderful memories to look back on. For I truly believe that those are the best presents of all. That is why we put ourselves through all the trouble and headache of holidays. The family gets on your nerves, the kids drive you insane, and the shopping cooking and cleaning wears your fingers to the bone, but in the end when it is all over and complete and you are in your quiet house curled up and warm you can close your eyes and forget about all the work it took, all the bickering and fighting, and just remember the funny times, the warm times, and the sweetness of your loved ones kisses and embraces as you all remember just what is important during the holidays. Not the stuff, not the food, but the people and the love.

    Happy Holidays to everyone.

    December 2, 2010 at 5:15

  13. My motto this year is: get it down fast and online if I can. Cyber Monday was a great boon for me. I took care of my two siblings and my daughter. Today I bought socks at my mom’s request and got them half off at JCP’s.

    Woot! I’m nearly done!

    Janice~

    December 3, 2010 at 5:15

  14. I buy a lot of things from Amazon, Target, and a coupla small online stores with unique items and good prices.

    The trouble with waiting to do online shopping in December is the amount of time it takes to ship things to your home when there’s a glut in the postal system. I’ve had things show up two weeks AFTER Christmas, which sucked.

    December 3, 2010 at 5:15

  15. I’ve actually had a lot of luck ordering things early from online services. 🙂

    Janice~

    December 3, 2010 at 5:15

  16. Thanks to all who read and commented!

    December 9, 2010 at 5:15

Leave a Reply

