Visit and read here! Chat and hang out with us!

First Snowfall…YAY!

We had our first decent snowfall of the season yesterday, but still we only got four inches. Just a half an hour north or us got twenty-eight inches. Soooo not fair. Every year, somehow, we manage to miss the big “dumping” of snow. Just once, I want three feet in one snowfall.

Of coarse I want all this before and up until Christmas. December 26th it can all melt away and go back to seventy and sunny. (Not very likely in Vermont.)

I’d also like this dumping to happen on the weekend, when I didn’t have to be out on the road. Just because we live in Vermont and are used to the snow, doesn’t make the drivers any safer. Actually, in my opinion, it makes them worse.

First of all, you have the sane people like me, who drive at a reasonable rate according to road conditions. Just because the speed limit sign say 55 doesn’t mean you should be driving at that rate with several inches on snow, slush or ice on the road.

Then you have the overly cautious people who drive 10 mph no matter if it’s a dusting or a dumping. These people can be dangerous. In the dumping, 10 miles per hour is fine. With the dusting, they tend to get the next group of drivers anxious and over zealous.

This next group of drivers are the ones found the most on our small state and town roads. They are the ones that believe that since they have a big truck and four-wheel-drive, that they can drive as fast as they like and their 4WD will keep them on the road.

News Flash: They’re wrong. Number one, NOTHING works on ice. Number two, when you’re flying down the road and get caught in slush or a rut, your big bad 4WD isn’t going to be much help for ya, and number three. When you come up upon the ass end of that 10mph driver and have to slam on your breaks, your bid bad 4WD isn’t going to help much either.

Rant aside, Christmas is near, it’s snowing, and that helps me battle the anger that the big retail stores bestow upon me at this time of year. But, that’s a whole nother story, lol.

DEBBIE

13 responses

  1. Debbie, snow! I want snow! But, like you, let it STOP by December 26!

    And you’re right. Driving in it is not easy, anywhere! Especially with ice.

    Well, maybe you’ll get the four inches, and maybe it will be at Christmas and you won’t have to drive in it, but sit back and enjoy it from indoors.

    December 8, 2010 at 5:15

  2. Merry Christmas, Debbie. 🙂 Glad you got a little snow if that’s what you enjoy. Drivers in Vermont sound almost as dangerous as drivers in Alabama, and we don’t have a clue how to drive on the icy stuff, because it’s rare that we get it. When it snows here, I stay home. No ifs ands or buts. But for me, I’d rather have summer all year long. Stay safe.

    December 8, 2010 at 5:15

  3. debbiegould

    I hope so, Carol. It really does improve my holiday spirits to watch fat snowflakes falling from the sky!

    December 8, 2010 at 5:15

  4. debbiegould

    I think drivers are more dangerous in areas where it snows because they think they know how to drive in it and they think 4WD is the end all and be all.

    They just need to slow down and use some common sense.

    Happy Holiday’s, Lisa!

    December 8, 2010 at 5:15

  5. Blake Deveraux

    I so adore snow, any amount, any time… the more the better. The positive about living in the south IS that generally most folks around here flip out with ANY snow, and rush to the grocery, buy all the milk and bread in the place, (for what purpose I have YET to gather… as for me snow, coffee, bailey’s irish cream, maybe a glass of wine…) anyhow I digress, they go home and STAY there till all the crap thaws, so those of us who have dealt with snow before are left to the roads, the way it should be. I do wish we’d have a white christmas, but doesn’t look promising here… Kisses Blake

    December 8, 2010 at 5:15

    • debbiegould

      Oh, Blake, I am so wishing for a white Christmas. What we have right now isn’t enough to last. We need more. I’m praying for feet!! LOL
      I do hope you get your white Christmas as well.

      BTW, I think they believe they can survive on milk toast. Ever have it? YUCK!!

      December 8, 2010 at 5:15

  6. I’m so so jealous of your snow. Here in Texas we don’t get it often but when we do and the roads ice up, I just stay HOME where I belong!

    December 8, 2010 at 5:15

    • debbiegould

      That’s the safest place to be when it’s icy out, Regina. NOTHING gets good traction on ice. I hate ice storms, that’s when all the trees come down and the power goes out. Not nice.

      December 8, 2010 at 5:15

  7. Snow. Ugh. We’ve had it here. It melted, then yesterday it started again. Then melted. I think we’re all waiting for a big dump.

    That sounded plain wrong…

    :o)

    December 9, 2010 at 5:15

    • debbiegould

      LMAO, Sarah! They have medication for that. But seriously, you need to get those cleat thingys for your boots when your walking the littlest to school. They will prevent you from falling on your ass.

      December 9, 2010 at 5:15

  8. We have a similar problem with people driving in our pea soup fog like its not even there. That’s when we have accidents when these ding-dongs slam into someone who is actually driving slowly.

    Janice~

    December 10, 2010 at 5:15

    • debbiegould

      Now THAT would be scary. Not being able to see what’s coming at you. I think I’ll keep the snow, lol.

      December 10, 2010 at 5:15

  9. In Ohio we’ve had snow almost every day of December so far.

    December 16, 2010 at 5:15

Leave a Reply

