Visit and read here! Chat and hang out with us!

A True Christmas Miracle

Christmas is over, thank God!

The Good Lord saw fit to help us out and we were able to provide a decent Christmas for the kids. It wasn’t nearly as lavish as I know some folks had, but it was nice, and I’m very relieved for the blessing.

The highlight of my Christmas? Well, my oldest has returned home. We’ve had so many problems with him, worried ourselves sick about the crowd he was running with, the people he was living with, and all the trouble he’d gotten himself into. I prayed about him until I felt myself turning blue, lol.

On Thanksgiving Day, I noticed a change in my son, but I didn’t get excited about it because he’s prone to doing one thing for a short time and reverting back to old ways within a coupla days. Well, he started calling more—just to talk, and he starting stopping by more and was paying attention to his siblings too, spending not a few minutes but big blocks of time like three to four hours before going home or going into work.

Finally, he took me Christmas shopping one evening, took me out for my birthday and took me to a movie. We had a wonderful time together!

And then he came in Christmas Eve and I opened my gift from him. My mouth dropped open. There, in a beautiful satin case, lay a sapphire and diamond teardrop pendant—a big one!

His job at the coalmine has turned into a promotion to a better division. We talked a long time, and he realizes everything myself and the rest of the family were trying to tell him was all true. He got involved in drugs and something happened that shook him so badly he had an epiphany that struck him so hard it rattled him right down to his very soul.

My son is back. My son is home where the heart is.

That was my real Christmas present and the Christmas miracle for the entire family.

It’s my belief the New Year will be just as special.

23 responses

  1. What a wonderful miracle! I’m so happy for you and your family that it’s once again intact the way it’s supposed to be!

    December 29, 2010 at 5:15

  2. This is wonderful news, Faith! I know you’ve worried yourself sick over that boy. I’m glad he’s straightening himself up and realizing how smart his momma is. 🙂

    BTW, I love the new look. 🙂

    December 29, 2010 at 5:15

  3. Thank you, Marci. You’re well aware of how we’ve struggled with this boy, so you know how much this change means to us. Thanks re the new look too!

    December 29, 2010 at 5:15

  4. That’s a really lovely story. Just the kind of Christmas miracle that warms all of our hearts. Sounds like you raised a good one, a boy smart enough to know when he’s made a mistake and turn it around early! And to know where he’s loved.

    December 29, 2010 at 5:15

  5. Ugh! You got me teary already this morning and I’ve not even finish my first cuppa.

    That is beautiful. Mama hugs and High-fives to you for raising a smart guy. God blessed you both.

    Heather

    December 29, 2010 at 5:15

  6. I’m sniffling over this heart-warming story, Faith! Thanks so much for sharing. Lavish Christmases are nothing when you’re worried about your children. Family is all that matters!

    ~huggles~
    Gracen

    December 29, 2010 at 5:15

  7. OMG, Heather, I’ve spilled enough tears over this boy I could probably fill up a swimming pool. The day he walked out of the house I thought my heart had literally been ripped out of my chest. He came in from school, packed a bag, and out the door he went. He’d just turned 18, so there wasn’t a thing I could do. We finally found out that the neighbors were the reason he did it. They got him so wrapped up in drugs, filled his head full of garbage. I knew it was going to be a long road, but thankfully a year later he’s back.

    The other day he came in and asked for two of my print books to show his girlfriend and an elderly lady friend he has. It gave me the best warm, fuzzy feeling, lol.

    December 29, 2010 at 5:15

  8. Valerie, Kate and Gracen, thanks for reading and thank you, too, for your support. Family is very important to us. My dad and my son were extremely close until the boy left home and it tore me up watching my dad cry and fret over him too. The change in my dad since my son has returned is beautiful to see.

    I truly believe this miracle is the start of many wonderful changes to come!

    December 29, 2010 at 5:15

  9. I am so happy for you. I’ve been where you are and nothing is more terrifying than watching a loved one destroy themselves. When their eyes finally open and they turn their lives around – it enables a mother to breathe again. Congratulations!

    December 29, 2010 at 5:15

  10. What a wonderful gift – on both counts! God bless your son’s efforts, and God bless you for standing by him, and using the power of prayer to ‘bring him home’ in more ways than one! 🙂 Merry Christmas and have a wonderful 2011!

    December 29, 2010 at 5:15

  11. I found it so appropriate that as I began reading your post, Let It Be came on the radio. Patience and prayer gets us far. I’m so happy for your miracle and admire your courage to shout it out.

    December 29, 2010 at 5:15

  12. Wow, Let it Be? How cool!

    December 29, 2010 at 5:15

  13. Maeve, this was a long, long year, but I thank God every time I pray for giving us a happy ending!

    Thank you, Marianne. Cyber {{{HUGS}}}

    December 29, 2010 at 5:15

  14. Oh, wow, that’s wonderful! What a heartwarming story. You muse be so happy, Faith!

    December 29, 2010 at 5:15

  15. Faith, glad he’s finally opened his eyes. I told you long ago that what morals you’d instilled in him as a child would come back to him. We raise our children the best we can, and then they’re on a wing and a prayer, but they never forget who loves them, or who they can trust to tell them the truth.

    Glad you got your miracle…

    ((Hugs))

    December 29, 2010 at 5:15

    • Thank yo for all the times you listened to me, Lisa. I’m blessed with good friends too.

      December 29, 2010 at 5:15

  16. This is wonderful, Faith. I am so happy for you and for your family. I know that just means the world to you. My son wasn’t into drugs, but he got involved with some friends and some girls that were scaring the living daylights out of me. He wasn’t listening either, until he hit rock bottom. It was hard to watch. But now he is back in school and has a wonderful girlfriend, and is truly on the road to recovery, so I know exactly what you are dealing with. God is wonderful. I prayed many many nights and He gave me the miracle I asked for.
    Hugs,
    Cheryl

    December 29, 2010 at 5:15

    • Oh, that’s WONDERFUL, Cheryl! Prayer is a powerful tool.

      December 29, 2010 at 5:15

  17. Wonderful news, Faith. I remember how you worried about him. I’m glad his grown up and found his back to the family that loves him. 🙂

    Janice~

    December 31, 2010 at 5:15

    • Hi Janice! Thanks for visiting.

      He was here last night hanging out with us and is supposed to stop by tonight for New Year’s Eve dinner.

      December 31, 2010 at 5:15

Leave a Reply

