Visit and read here! Chat and hang out with us!

New Year, new…well, everything

It’s funny how the new year, in spite of all it merely being a number, can have the potential to change so much in one’s life. Has anyone else besides me found that it’s brought about an upheaval in their life, or is it just me? Some of you may remember my blog post from New Year’s Eve on how challenging I personally found 2010 to be, and how I wondered what 2011 would hold for me.

Change is not always bad. It is stressful, but sometimes deep down, it’s something we anticipated. We read the writing on the wall, so to speak, or the little voice in our heads whispered to us as we slept. Such as it was for me. As I type this, I am speaking as one of the newly unemployed. I was laid off on Wednesday (no shock, just disappointment) but as luck would have it, a recruiter caught my update to my profile and I was on a job interview that afternoon. Today I have my final interview with that company. My experience may not be typical, but it’s definitely proof that the economy is getting stronger. I have lost track of how many places I’ve been submitted to and yesterday morning my phone was ringing off the hook–and I hadn’t even put my resume up online yet.

Some of you may still be nervous and struggling, wondering what the future holds. I came into the New Year with both apprehension and pessimism and hope to leave it with a sense of accomplishment and thankfulness. It’s my hope that all of you will do the same.

I hope with my next blog post that I have good news for you all. In addition, I’d like to hear some of your good news too. Boast and cheer in the comments, please! One person’s triumph is another’s ray of hope that we too can achieve the best in life.

🙂

 

Love & Magic,
Adrianne

http://www.adriannebrennan.com

2 responses

  1. Change being stressful is so true, but even bad changes can often have a blessing in disguise.

    January 11, 2011 at 5:15

  2. jaimesamms

    Adrianne, as I sit and wait for the phone call that means I have a job this year, (I know it will come, I just don’t when or how long the contract will be) I realize that as stressful as it is, I have all this time to write, I have five new releases coming out by mid March, and things could look a lot worse. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your story. I too hope you have good news for us!

    Jaime

    January 11, 2011 at 5:15

Leave a Reply

