Visit and read here! Chat and hang out with us!

Saying Goodbye….Again!

Just returned from Florida last Saturday after a two week stay. I’m sure you’re all think lucky Debbie. got to get away from the cold winter and all the snow here in Vermont. Well, yes, that’s true, but I also had to say goodbye again to my daughter.

Yes once again, she is deploying. This time back to Afghanistan. This will be her fifth deployment in the nine years she’s been in.

On the bright side, Jadin, her six year old son, comes to live with us until she gets back in October. That is the only bright side. If I didn’t have him, and a few of my on-line author friends to keep me grounded, I’d drive myself crazy with worry over her.

Saying goodbye to her is always bitter-sweet. On the one hand we get Jadin for eight months, and he is such a joy to have around. On the other hand, we are sending our daughter off to war. It’s hard to reconcile one over the other. Thank goodness for modern day technology. The last two deployments we were able to skype often and stay in touch by email. Hopefully that will be the case this time.

As for Jadin??? He loves it. Not saying goodbye to his mommy, but he enjoys the change of scenery. He actually starts asking about six months into his time with us or Renee if it’s time for him to move again. He tells everyone he has two homes, one in Florida and one in Vermont.

He is in Kindergarten this year, but isn’t even worried about starting up at a new school since he knows most of the kids here from pre-K last year. He is a very well rounded little man.

So, my empty nest is no longer, and I will have tons of Jadin stories to share as well as keep you up to date on how Renee is doing. I’ll also be posting these stories on my website blog. http://www.authordebbiegould.com

Now for some pics from the trip.

Debbie Gould

21 responses

  1. Cynthia Osborne

    We all will send her off on prayers of a safe return and that is so boring over there she is not sure what to do. I am here and there as you know. Cyn

    February 16, 2011 at 5:15

  2. debbiegould

    LOL! Thanks, Cyn. I do appreciate that, and boring would be good, at least for my peace of mind.

    February 16, 2011 at 5:15

  3. Aunt Toni

    Hi Debbie!
    Thanks for posting.
    I’ll be praying for all of you but especially Renee and Jadin. He seems to have a adventerous spirit,very similar to my Lil Dude. Gotta love that about about ’em!
    Take Care,
    Aunt Toni

    February 16, 2011 at 5:15

    • debbiegould

      Thanks, Toni!
      He is so adaptable that he has come to anticipate the change and look forward to it. His mommy will always be his foundation, but he knows he always has us to turn to as well. I keep joking with Renee that he will either join the military or have to find himself a job that keeps him mobile since that’s all he’s known since he was born and he loves it.

      February 16, 2011 at 5:15

  4. I truly hate this for you, Debbie. For all of you. Not the Jadin part because you love being with him so much. It’s not only our soldiers who have a difficult time but their families and I know the constant worry must be so draining. I can’t imagine how tough this must be. Praying for her safe return and an end to the war.

    February 16, 2011 at 5:15

  5. debbiegould

    I try not to dwell on where she is, and she is so good about not complaining, even when I tell her it’s fine with me if she does. Everyone needs an outlet, but I have a strong feeling that she has a wonderful support system in her team members. So, for that I am greatfull. Most of them are men and treat her like their younger sister. To the point that last year when she was in Bagram, the wouldn’t even let her walk to the showers alone. They arranged their schedules so someone was always jogging with her. I’ve met a few of them and they are GREAT guys. And that goes a long way to making me feel a little bit better.
    Thanks, Regina!

    February 16, 2011 at 5:15

  6. Hugs, Debbie. Hugs to you!

    February 16, 2011 at 5:15

  7. debbiegould

    Thanks, Carol!

    February 16, 2011 at 5:15

  8. jaimesamms

    Debbie, you and your family are very brave.

    February 16, 2011 at 5:15

    • debbiegould

      Thank you, Jaime. But, Renee is the brave one here.

      February 16, 2011 at 5:15

  9. My prayers are with your family. I have many family members and friends in the military. My friend’s son is deploying in March for Afghanistan. He is a newlywed. I’ve known Liam since he was a child. I pray all goes well for him. My grandmother sent three of her sons to war. One didn’t come back, and I know how painful such separations and losses can be. I hope your daughter stays safe.

    February 16, 2011 at 5:15

    • debbiegould

      Thanks, Viola!

      February 16, 2011 at 5:15

  10. Debbie, I will pray for your daughter, for her safe return, but will also pray for you and your entire family. I know how draining it is to worry about a child no matter what their age.

    Thank you to her for serving her country so bravely, and to you for everything you have to deal with while she’s gone.

    HUGS! BA

    February 17, 2011 at 5:15

  11. debbiegould

    Thanks, BA! You’ve always been in my corner. I appreciate your prayers and kind words.
    Hugs!

    February 17, 2011 at 5:15

  12. Natalie Dae

    I can’t imagine how you do it. I know I would if I had to, but trying to imagine the depth of fear and worry frightens me. You’re so brave, as is Renee and Jadin. It’s a blessing you’re all so close as a family.

    :o)

    February 17, 2011 at 5:15

    • debbiegould

      I don’t do it alone, that’s for sure. My two boys make sure they spend time playing sports and video games with him. My mother picks him up for school since I have to be at work so early. My mother in-law has him today since there is no school. My husband usually spends all day with him on Sundays. Plus a multitude of my childrens friends are so kind to him and let him tag along.
      Plus all you guys help to keep me sane.
      When they say it takes a community, they’re not kidding.

      February 17, 2011 at 5:15

  13. I also pray that your daughter returned safe and sound to you and your grandson.

    In the mean time, have fun with your grandson.

    Janice~

    February 17, 2011 at 5:15

    • debbiegould

      Thank you, Janice. And, believe me, I plan to have tons of fun, lol.

      February 18, 2011 at 5:15

  14. Hi Debbie,

    You have my prayers. My oldest son is there right now. He’s in the Army.

    Hugs,
    Tambra

    February 18, 2011 at 5:15

    • debbiegould

      Thanks, Tambra, and I’ll keep your son in mine as well.

      February 18, 2011 at 5:15

  15. Wow, Debbie. So bittersweet. But the sacrifices your daughter is making for us all is commendable. My thoughts and prayers for her safe return. Thank God Jadin has such a wonderful grandparent to adjust to the circumstances. You should be very proud of both he and your daughter as I’m sure you are. Take care.

    February 20, 2011 at 5:15

Leave a Reply

